Migrating to new Version

If you have an account running on the old version, migrating to the new version involve some manual checks and contacting support.

To request a migration, simply send an email to support@quickmail.io, but before you do so, please check this article to understand the impact.

The big change to consider for migration is the addition of companies as separated entities.

Migration impacts an entire team, it can't be done for some users in the team, the entire team needs to be migrated in one go. We recommend creating a trial account to check on the new version first.

NOTE: Once you are migrated, there is no way to revert back to the old version. You can start a Trial and click on the migrate button on the dashboard if you want to check yourself the new interface first.

1. Team

We can't migrate 1 account in a team and leave the other on the old version. So only team admins can request a migration and should be fine with the entire team being migrated at once. 

2. System attributes

Company, Website and Address are not present, nor accessible on the prospect anymore. Website and Address data are NOT migrated (they will still exist in the database but you won't be able to edit/change them, so best act as if they aren't there)

Since those attributes are really company attributes, they have been removed from the prospect. If your sequence is using them, they will be lost.

Only company {{company}} has been preserved in the form of the name of the company {{company.name}}.

Company is now Company.name (see below)

If you had Conditions in your sequence that used Company name, Address or Website, those will need to be specified manually by you after migration.

3. Custom Attributes

To help making things clearer, the custom attributes have a prefix that tells what type of attribute it is.

For example, {{firstname}} became {{prospect.first_name}}, and {{company}} became {{company.name}}

Question: Do I need to change my sequences?
Answer: Not necessarily, old syntax {{firstname}}, even {{company}} will still work but if you edit your sequence, you won't be able to save without changing these first. If your sequence contains {{address}} or {{website}}, those attributes won't work anymore. Attributes that can't be resolved at the time of sending will create an error, so no email will be sent. When you try to save the email content, it will produce an error. You can use the buttons in the editor to change to the right format. On top of that, you have identity attributes (one value for each quickmail account)

4. Stop if colleagues reply

If you used this feature in group settings, know that this has been moved to sequence settings.

You will need to change the sequence settings to specify if a reply should also stop colleagues from receiving follow-ups or not.

To be considered a colleague, one prospect simply has to share the same company, group is now irrelevant for this.

By default, when creating a new sequence on the new version, this feature is turned ON. But for old sequences that are migrated to the new version, it will be OFF. So make sure you turn it ON if you need this after the migration happened

5. Colleagues may be impacted

On the new version, the {{=colleagues}} attribute will be based on the company prospects share.

On the old version, company name needed to be the same AND prospects also needed to be in the same group.

On the new version however, if you have 2 prospects in the same company, BUT added to different group, they will considered as colleagues since they are in the same company.

6. Follow-up auto-resume in 14 days

One great addition of this new version is the ability to resume Out Of Office automatically in 14 days rather than stopping the sequence. By default when migrating, all sequences will not have this option turned on. You will need to change the settings manually for each sequence you want this new option turned on.

Every new sequence create on the new version however will have this setting turned on by default.

6. Duration

Migrations change quite a lot of data, so it can take a lot of time once we turn the switch (with big accounts) and it's best not to interact with the account while the migration is running. You'll see a Migration task running in your notification until the migration ends. For most accounts though it takes about 30 min max.